## MILAN AREA SCHOOLS BOARD OF EDUCATION WORKSHOP MEETING Wednesday, February 23, 2022

The workshop meeting of the Milan Area Schools Board of Education was called to order in the Milan High School Theater located at 200 Big Red Drive, Milan MI, 48160, by President Cislo at 7:00 p.m. on February 23, 2022

Board Members Present: Cislo, Heikka, Landingham, Faro, Moccio, Kiger, Frait

**Board Members Absent:** None

**Staff Present:** Bryan Girbach, Ryan McMahon, Aaron Shinn, Erin Keel, Nancy Gill, Holly Fiedler, Kim Jasper, Jennifer Barker, CJ Brooks, Liz Miller, Clara Thiry, Wendy Unger, Elizabeth Satterly, Jim Brousseau

Guests Present: Greg Gray, Justin Hobbs, Debbie Allen, Jeanette Halliday, Geoff Halliday Ashley St. Clair, Mackenzie McDaniel, Andrea Bennink, Lexy Keel, Jacob Bennink, Paul Wood, Owen, Dylan Kriner, Karina Kriner, Lindsey Kriner, Crystal Wood, Charlie Wood, Jamie McElvany, KJ DeMars, Kirk DeMars, Kamran Ackley, Gunner Kruise, Ryder Knox, Avery Powell, Elias Hobbs, Gavin Kruise, Tommy Payeur, Murphy Payeur, James Stewart, Erin Held, Annette Kennedy, Chris Gaffey, Brianna Prete, LJ Prete, Annie Kruise, Megan Gunderson, Jen Scarpati, Zack Spradlin, Warren, Dave Kruise, Mandy Arnston, Renee Humes, Rachel Hobbs, Holly Vallade, Denise Lopez, Brody Lopez, Shelby, Donna Koviak, Lisa Cook, Kristi Swix Higgins, Carrie Guiterrez, Luis Barnett, Trisha Parker, Ed Kolar, Shannon Dare Wayne, Zoe Graham, Melissa Budd, Evan Budd, George Elder, Maci Elder, Ezrayah Elder Tracy McGraw, Nathan McGraw, Sylvia Koch, Katie Parsons, Ashley Kerkes, Katie Maurer, Jodi Overbeak, Stacy Sachs, Derek Sachs, Emily Dunn, Alex Bancroft, Trish Stapleton, Mack Foster Jr., Colleen Satarino, Shawn Murphy, Alibeth Vandergrift, Jennifer Elrod, Nathan Elrod, Shane Stubbe, Brooke Stubbe, Matt West, T Spad, Ella Markowski, April Wills, Alecia Powell, Courtney Nye, Delaney Higgins

## Pledge of Allegiance

President Cislo recognized school bus drivers during School Bus Driver Appreciation Day as well as all MAS staff during Public School Week.

A SET SEG Education Excellence Award was presented to Holly Fiedler and Kim Jasper by Greg Gray from SET SEG and Dale Winguard who is a MASB Region 7 Representative.

The Board received an Educational Update from Milan High School presented by Principal Aaron Shinn, Erin Keel, and Nancy Gill.

Comments from the public were heard.

- Andrea Bennink requested that her comments be included in the minutes. She commented on the meeting minutes, transparency, positive communication with the board, the mask mandate survey, board decision making, and the mask mandate.
- Crystal Lloyd requested that her comments be included in the minutes. She commented on the mask mandate and the impacts of masks.
- KJ DeMars requested that his comments be included in the minutes. He commented on masks, COVID-19, and a student petition regarding the mask mandate.
- Kamran Ackley requested that his comments be included in the minutes. He commented on a student petition regarding the mask mandate.
- Elias Hobbs requested that his comments be included in the minutes. He commented on the mask mandate, mask efficiency, and his personal experiences.
- Annette Kennedy requested that her comments be included in the minutes. She commented on mask exemptions, mask mandates, and her personal experiences.
- Rachel Hobbs requested that her comments be included in the minutes. She commented on mask mandates, parental choice, and her personal experience.

Motion by Faro supported by Landingham to approve the consent agenda that includes the minutes of the regular meeting of February 9, 2022. Carried 6-1 No vote by Frait

Motion by Frait to amend the meeting minutes of the regular meeting of February 9, 2022. Motion failed due to lack of support.

• Board Member Frait requested that her comments be included in the minutes. She commented on the meeting minutes, purpose of meetings, past practice, and transparency.

Motion by Faro supported by Heikka to direct the Superintendent, or designee, to cast the district's vote for the MASB Region 7 Board of Directors position for Michael McVey. All Ayes. Carried 7-0

Motion by Heikka supported by Faro to approve the Superintendent's recommendation regarding COVID Health Guidelines as included in Attachment B1. All Ayes. Carried 7-0

Comments from the public were heard.

- Annette Kennedy requested that her comments be included in the minutes. She commented on her personal experience.
- Kirk DeMars requested that his comments be included in the minutes. He commented on in-person school, students speaking out, masks, and the WCHD guidelines.

Comments from the Superintendent were heard.

Comments from the Assistant Superintendent were heard.

Comments from Student Board Members were heard.

Comments from Board Members were heard.

Motion by Faro supported by Heikka to enter into closed session pursuant to Section 8(b) of the Michigan Open Meetings Act, and upon the request of the student's parent/guardian, for the purpose of conducting a hearing to consider the discipline of a student whose identity is known to the Board as student 2021-2022-2. All Ayes. Carried 7-0

Time entered closed session 10:32 p.m.

Time returned to open session 11:08 p.m.

Motion by Moccio supported by Landingham to expel student 2021-2022-2 in accordance with the attached resolution. All Ayes. Carried 7-0

Time of Adjournment: 11:09 p.m.